Root Chakra Healing

What is a Chakra?

As you might know, Chakras are, at their most basic definition, the major focal points through which energy flows up and down our body. In Sanskrit, the word “chakra” means “disk” or “wheel” and refers to these energy centres. Nerve bundles and major organs match with each chakra, which, to function, needs to to be balanced or stay open.

All the organs and the nerves come together to create spinning energy centres, being not only responsible for our physical health, but also for our emotional and mental wellbeing.

To function at their best, chakras need to stay open, or balanced. If they get blocked, you may experience physical or emotional symptoms related to a particular chakra. In total, there are seven main chakras (root, sacral, solar, heart, throat, third eye, crown) and we’ll explore each one in more detail below.

First Chakra or Root Chakra

The first Chakra is the mūlādhāra chakra in Sanskrit, aka Root Chakra: it is located at the base of the spine and is referred as “the root of all things.” It is home to our most basic needs and it is the individual’s center of emotional and spiritual balance, as well as instinctual consciousness.

When this chakra is blocked, it can compromise the integrity of all the other chakras and affect the wellbeing of the entire body, mind and spirit. It goes without saying that only when our most essential needs are met we are really able to focus on growing and spend energy on other activities.

How To Unblock The Root Chakra and Heal

If this chakra is out of alignment, it can lead to a fear of basic needs going unmet and make us feel disconnected, tired, powerless, stuck, anxious and unstable. When unbalanced, the first chakra can also lead one to take on other people’s energies or to experience physical issues like arthritis, bladder or colon problems, or issues with the parasympathetic nervous system.


There’s a high number of remedies available: first of all, physical exercise and moving the body can have a powerful effect on the root chakra. Some yoga poses and asanas like child’s pose, lotus, triangle pose, and garland pose can help to ground. Any kind of grounding meditation would also work as a remedy: you can try to chant LAM as a mantra or visualisation meditation of the chakra, while performing the Muladhara Mudra.

You can also enrich your practice by using some essential oils, Bach flowers or crystals: here follows a summary of tips to heal your root chakra given to us by Ambra, our partner and specialist in Naturopathy and Bioenergetic Healing.


Organs: spine, teeth, feet, bones, nails, legs, rectum, genitals, adrenal glands

Common characteristics of the root chakra are: grounding, survival, safety, instinct, family, new beginnings

If the Chakra is unbalanced: anxiety, tiredness, instability, attachment to goods, egoism

How to rebalance it

Mantra to Chant: LAM

Bach Flowers: Rescue Remedy, Mimulus, Cherry plum, Aspen, Red Chestnut

Crystals: Red or Dark Crystals (black tourmaline, black onyx, magnetite, red chalcedony)

Oils: Essential Oils (cinnamon, patchouli, sandalwood, vetiver)

Download on AppStore
Download on Google Play